Reborn Blog

Ya’ll. I have stories, so I’m back. I don’t think I’ll be able to write a book, so I’m reviving this blog instead.

This morning I hiked about 9 miles in flat, boring, Florida with a friend and then I just didn’t feel like doing anything else all afternoon. I got in bed and stayed there for like 6 hours. I am just tired but not sleepy and not because of the hike. Nine miles of hiking ain’t shit. I was not physically tired, but I just was done.

Yesterday I walked more than 12 miles just running errands around town. I’m not tired from walking.

I’m tired from existing in the real world.

I miss the trail life. Dirty feet and mountain views, quiet solitude, the sunrise breaking over a ridge.

The Sierra Nevada in the early morning

I thru hiked the PCT in 2020. Pandemic Year be damned. It changed my life in the best way. My break felt good and my body felt amazing. I was strong and ready to conquer the world.

And now I live in Tampa, in a house with my sisters and my niece. It’s loud. The city lights are bright. Traffic is terrible. it’s triggery and endlessly over stimulating. Too many sounds and interactions and irritations.

56th Ave, Temple Terrace FL

More later.

I’m just too tired right now.

4 thoughts on “Reborn Blog

  1. As I read this I kept saying yes! I feel you so much on the over-stimulation of this area (I’m right outside of Tampa) and I too miss “my” mountains. I came from PA and have been here for 6 years already and my heart still cries out for the trails and moments lost in the woods with nothing more than the sound of nature and my own thoughts. This wasn’t an easy transition, or at least it wasn’t until I got on a bike and never (well..’ rarely’) got back off. That too comes with its own scary moments but it really makes the flatness of the trails here a bit more fun because you can see more and do more when on wheels. Best wishes to you in your journey of finding your place in the midst of all hustle & bustle here in Tampa!

    Like

    • I lived in MD/PA for two years before coming back to FL. Liked it better there than here, but the east coast isn’t for me. I have a plan to move to OR in 2021. Just have to save the money. There is literally not a place for me in Tampa. I can’t be here with my family. It’s too close.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I feel the same. We love Washington State, Oregon, and Colorado but not the cost of living. I have the be for everything to work a certain way in the budget or I get lost in anxiety😳 I hope you’re able to make the move that brings you comfort and peace. It’s there anything you enjoy about the Tampa area? Any escapes you’ve been able to secure for time away?

        Like

Leave a comment